Sunday, October 12, 2014 FAI MARATHON back. With the Lotto and the FAI do not rush and discover Italy around you, the national event, now in its third edition, made by FAI – Fondo Ambiente Italian thanks to the support of 3 thousand volunteers and partnering with The Game Lotto, in support of the fundraising campaign in October “Remember to save Italy.”
The FAIMARATHON is not a sport but a marathon walk suitable for all ages reveals that, between the streets of over 120 cities throughout Italy, churches, palaces, theaters, monuments, places of historical or artistic interest through unusual and interesting itineraries. It ‘the perfect opportunity to rediscover our beautiful country and its treasures, a wealth of art and nature is unique in the world and a valuable resource, the “engine” from which to restart our economy.
Participate in FAIMARATHON is a way to make a tangible contribution to the defense of art, nature and the countryside by supporting the Italian FAI.
The FAIMARATHON of Catania involves these steps:
The Castle Ursino in Catania was founded by Frederick II of Swabia in the thirteenth century. The manor had a certain visibility in the course of the Sicilian Vespers, as the seat of Parliament and, later, the residence of the Aragonese kings such as Frederick III. Today it houses the Museum of the town of Etna, formed mainly from the collections Biscari and the Benedictines.
CHURCH AND MONASTERY OF SAINT CLARE
The church and monastery of Santa Chiara are a very large complex that covers an entire city block. The monastery, now houses the municipal offices, should the design of its facade the creativity of Mansion in the second half of the eighteenth century. The adjoining church has a characteristic oval dome surrounded by a portico, at the entrance there is the choir of gilded wood with the image of Santa Chiara; of artistic and historical value, the five altars, two of which house the paintings of the renowned Olivio Sozzi and Paolo Vasta, and the reliquary on the altar of the SS Crucified. The ceiling is painted with a large fresco, by the artist Olivio Sozzi, dating back to 1766, representing the Triumph of the Poor Clares. One of the most valuable and characteristic of the church is definitely the polychrome marble flooring.
Illuminated by rigorous balconies that open onto Via Garibaldi (via Ferdinandea until 1862), on Via Sant’Anna and a quadrangular courtyard, the palace is now home to the Regional Museum which houses the library of the writer and essential furniture. A door to a round arch, ornamented neo-classical, and a marble staircase, flanked by an elegant balustrade, place in house Verga on the 2nd floor. A house that strikes the visitor to the austere sobriety far removed from the glitz, kitsch sometimes, the sumptuous monument ?? ‘”The Italian Vittoriale” Gabriele d’Annunzio built himself in Gardone Riviera. Eloquent testimony of two antithetical personalities and lifestyles.
CHURCH AND MONASTERY OF SAINT BENEDICT
The church of St. Benedict is a Catholic Christian Church of Catania, built in the eighteenth century. It is located in Via dei Crociferi, where it was built between 1704 and 1713, and was dedicated to St. Benedict of Norcia. The property is best known for the steps of the Angel, one marble staircase entrance, adorned with statues of some of the angels. The staircase is surrounded by a beautiful wrought iron gate. The front door is made of wood and the panels shows scenes from the life of St. Benedict. The church is part of the monastery of the Benedictine nuns of the abbey which also includes greater and lesser abbey connected by a covered bridge that sovrappassa the way of the Crociferis.
One of the main squares of the city, on which it faces the namesake palace of the eighteenth century
The basilica Maria Santissima dell’Elemosina, better known as collegiate basilica, is a late Baroque church located along the Via Etnea, a short distance from the building of the University, in Catania. The church was rebuilt in the early years of the eighteenth century, as much of the city of Catania, which was destroyed by the 1693 earthquake.
The Palace of the Elephants (Palazzo del Senato) is the town hall of Catania. It is located on the north side of the spectacular Piazza Duomo. Its construction in 1696, soon after the terrible earthquake of 1693, was attended by numerous architects: the original design was made by Giovan Battista Lombard in 1696, the facades east, south and west were designed by Giovan Battista Vaccarini while the north was built by Carmelo battle.
Subscribe now to FAIMARATHON
Discover the city FAIMARATHON protagonists of online and sign up now, you save! The participation fee is, in fact, whether online instead of 4 € 10 if the streets on the day of the event or at the Goods and Delegations FAI. Remember, too, that if you sign up (or renew your membership) online from October 1st to the FAI participation